Aquatic Animals Diseases


The Aquatic Animal Health Code (the Aquatic Code) provides standards for the improvement of aquatic animal health and welfare worldwide. These standards should be used by Members to set up measures for the prevention, early detection, reporting and control of pathogenic agents in aquatic animals (amphibians, crustaceans, fish and molluscs). Implementation of the recommendations in the Aquatic Code ensures the safety of international trade in aquatic animals and aquatic animal products while avoiding unjustified sanitary barriers.

The World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH, founded as OIE) has developed and published international standards since 1968. The World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on the Application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (SPS Agreement) recognises the role of the Organisation (under its foundational name “Office International des Epizooties”) as the international standard setting organisation for animal health and zoonoses, with which WTO Members should align their import requirements. The Aquatic Code is thus a key part of the WTO legal framework for international trade.

Notifiable Aquatic animals diseases
Aphanomyces astaci Chapter 9.2.
Chapter 9.10.
Enteric septicaemia of catfish (Edwardsiella ictaluri)
Epizootic haematopoietic necrosis virus Chapter 10.1.
Epizootic ulcerative syndrome Chapter 10.2.
Bonamia exitiosa Chapter 11.2.
Bonamia ostreae Chapter 11.3.
Abalone herpesvirus Chapter 11.1.
Gyrodactylus salaris Chapter 10.3.
Haplosporidium nelson
Hepatobacter penaei Chapter 9.3.
salmon anaemia virus Chapter 10.4.
Marteilia refringens Chapter 11.4.
Marteilia sydneyi
Mikrocytos mackini Read here
Perkinsus marinus Chapter 11.5.
Perkinsus olseni Chapter 11.6.
Ranavirus species Chapter 8.3.
Salmonid alphavirus Chapter 10.5.
Xenohaliotis californiensis Chapter 11.7.
hypodermal and haematopoietic necrosis Read here
myonecrosis virus Chapter 9.5.
koi herpesvirus Chapter 10.7.
spring viraemia of carp virus Chapter 10.9.
Taura syndrome virus Chapter 9.7.
Tetrahedral baculoviruses (Baculovirus penaei) Read here
white spot syndrome virus Chapter 9.8.
White tail disease Chapter 9.6.